Foodie…..Not

This week I am dedicating all my posts to food.  I am not a foodie.  But, I do enjoy cooking and fine ingredients.  The problem is that a thief has stolen the joy I have for cooking, and that thief is named, Time.  I positively have absolutely NO time for cooking.  Yet, I am determined to cook for my family at least 4 days a week.  By cooking, my family saves money, we eat nutritious meals as a family, and we have a nutritious meal for lunch the next day (leftovers).  And yes, it is is 4 times a week because I have a husband that does not eat leftovers for dinner and I am not a slow cooker expert just yet.  Often times I am told, “I don’t know how you do it.”  And it made me think, how do I do it.  For starters,  I have a few tips to make it your week of cooking easier.

  • Create your menu and shopping list for the week.
  • Separate your list into categories such as Dairy, Meats, Frozen, Fruits and Veggies.  It makes your shopping experience that much smoother.
  • Keep a notepad in the kitchen and write down any items that need to be replaced for the upcoming week.  For example, the last of the black pepper was used. Add it to the list.
  • Make one weekly trip to the grocery store that is not on the weekend.  My preferred day is Friday afternoon between my commute from work and the kids’ school.
  • Clip coupons for savings and discover new featured products. (Don’t stress yourself and go overboard with the coupon cutting.  Do what works for you and your family!)
  • Choose recipes that produce fulfilling meals that do not take long to cook (think 30 minutes or less).
  • Don’t be afraid of shortcuts such as frozen or pre chopped vegetables.
  • Cook enough food for lunch the next day.

The next few posts will include a few of my favorite quick and easy recipes and how to make a menu board and recipe book for your sanity.

Sharing what I know,

Dee Dee

4 responses

  1. I look forward to your recipes

    1. I hope you find some recipes you can use!

  2. I like this blog, it’s very eye catching and a good way of keeping up with the family on the other side of town, I’ll have to give these recipes a try… I’m always looking for short cuts to the dinner table.

    1. Thanks. I’m glad you like it. And I’ll try to keep the easy recipes flowing!

Leave a Reply

