You Know That Kitchen Is A Mess

I know that majority of my life is spent in the kitchen and laundry room.  No matter what I do or how I do it, the kitchen is always dirty and clothes always need to be washed.  It drives me insane, because for the life of me….I just don’t get it.  I don’t think I will ever get it, but I’ve come to grips with the fact that I may never understand this madness.  I have created a few tips that should hopefully help you organize your kitchen madness if you need some guidance:

  • Try to keep plastic plates, cups, and place mats low for the little ones.  Sometimes when the kitchen gets hectic, I can tell the kids to set the table, it buys me a little time to complete dinner and it gives them a task to make them feel like a valuable contributor to our family dinner.
  • Keep counters completely clutter free.  Clutter drives me nuts and I so try to keep my counters clutter free.  The problem is that I live with three other people, and they obviously heart clutter!
  • Clean the kitchen EVERY night by running the dishwasher and emptying it every morning if possible, sweep the floors, and wipe the counters and tables.  I actually started the dishwasher routine about a month ago, and it has been great!
  • Make it a priority to eat as a family.  I knew it was important to eat as a family, but I honestly didn’t know how important it was until I went to my son’s yearly checkup.  As part of his assessment, the doctor asked if we eat at least one meal a day together as a family and how many times a week.  I guess he liked my answer, because he didn’t give me a lecture as he has been known to do in the past.
  • Don’t forget that kids can cook too.  There are several age appropriate ways that kids can help in the kitchen from counting scoops and setting the table to measuring ingredients and peeling vegetables.
  • Clean any junk drawers you may have in the kitchen.  Years ago I was watching an episode of Oprah and she surprised a couple at their home.  Of course it was an older couple in their late 50’s yet they did not have a junk drawer in their home.  They said, “We believe everything should have its place, or we don’t need it.”  I thought this motto was too true and since then I have attempted to organize my house based on that motto.

I’m sure most if not all of this information is not new to you, yet I hope you can find something of use to benefit your busy family!

Leave a Reply

