Baskets, Buckets, and a Colander

I will use a basket to organize just about anything. As I’ve posted before, the baskets do nothing more than infuriate my husband, but they assist with the balancing of my organizational issues. Today, I’m going to reveal a few of my secret weapons that I store in the kitchen and bathroom.

Baskets

Please excuse the mess. We have been on the go the last few weeks, but I really wanted to post a visual!

Baskets can be used to store a multitude of items. They can be purchased almost anywhere and can be found in several different styles and colors. A couple of years ago, I started using baskets in the bathroom to store toiletries. I am a bulk shopper which means the house is usually fully stocked and it drives me insane when random items are stored in random places. As a result, I created a simple basket organization system. (I have learned in time that to avoid frustrating myself, I just fix the issue.) I keep three plastic baskets on my bathroom shelf for my items, my husband’s items, and miscellaneous items that we both use. In my basket, I store body wash (the smelly kind that my husband prefers not to use), deodorant, extra makeup brushes, extra body wash sponges, etc. In my husband’s basket, it’s basically the same, deodorant, “manly” body wash, his prescription face wash, etc. In the miscellaneous basket, I store items that we both use such as toothpaste, cotton balls, floss, toothbrushes, etc. The baskets help me with keeping items stocked and my husband hasn’t asked me about a toothbrush or deodorant in a long time. Remember, the less questions, the better for me!

Buckets

20120802-085643.jpg

I have 1-2 buckets (dishwashing buckets) under my sink in the kitchen and each of the bathrooms. These buckets store cleaning items. One bucket stores all the cleaning fluids and the other bucket stores the items used to clean such as towels, dusters, and sponges. When it is time to deep clean, it is easy to pull these buckets out and get to work. They keep everything together in a neat and orderly fashion. Also, I when the cleaning monster takes over me, I don’t have to look for cleaning items, they are all in one place. I love it!

Colander

20120802-090430.jpgBath time = fun time in most households with little ones which usually means wet toys all over the tub. An inexpensive way to solve this problem is to store the toys in a colander. It’s that easy. After bath time, you can use the colander (so inexpensive) to scoop up the toys and be done with it. The toys will dry/breathe in the colander and you’ve cleaned the tub in one scoop.

Please leave a comment and let me know if you plan to implement one of these cheap and easy tips in your household.

4 responses

  1. Trenise Duckens | Reply

    I am just getting on the bandwagon to be more organized. However, I have implemented the idea of placing baskets at the bottom of the sink. I really love it! I can’t wait to get more baskets. Thanks for the idea.

    1. And don’t forget about the dollar store when buying baskets. They have several baskets for cheap!

  2. Love the colander idea; I will start using one this weekend

    1. Great, Misty! It is a great trick and costs little of nothing!

Leave a Reply

