FFF-Lights Out

The kids and I arrived home and were finally nearing the end of a long week.  My husband and I finalized our plans for dinner and soccer practice.  The kids were eager to get home and grab a snack.  We finally arrived home and the garage door would not open.  The week before we had a new garage door installed, so I figured it was a malfunction and I thought to myself, “Here we go again.”  I took the kids out the car and we went inside and my world stopped, it came to a screeching halt.

I made a huge mistake.  My “easier way“of paying the bills had failed.  The electricity had been turned off for nonpayment.  I knew this without making one phone call, the house was warm and I absolutely could not remember the last time I paid the electricity bill or checked the mail.  I had every intention of checking it the night before, but I was just too exhausted.  Well, I back pedaled and checked the mail and right on top was the beautiful pink slip.  I paid the bill and the electricity was on in about 45 minutes.  The kids never missed a beat and my husband didn’t judge or blame me.  Lesson(s) learned.

LESSON(S) LEARNED

This one mistake taught me so many lessons:

1)  Bills need to be paid on time every time (I KNOW this already).  (This flub cost us an additional $52.95.)

2)  Trust my instincts.  (I had a feeling we had not paid the bill and a notice was in the mail, and I was right on both hunches.)

3)  Take care of home first  because no one else will.  Life had grabbed a hold of my husband and I.  My responsibilities at work were overflowing, the kids started a new school and needed paperwork completed and supplies purchased, my husband was sick again, and I had a ton of personal action items I “needed” to scratch off my to-do list.

I hit a brick wall, but I learned my lessons, reviewed our Household Financial Manual ,and refocused my priorities.  A little stumble never hurt anyone.  The real test is how fast you get up.

2 responses

  1. Sarah (theGIRL) | Reply

    I can so see this happening to me. In fact, I’ve never been late on a bill until this year. I put my car payment on auto pay, but forgot that I only did it for six months. Yep…the seventh month went completely unpaid. Love reading your FFF!

    1. Girl, we must slow down. Just know that you are not alone!

Leave a Reply

