Monday Week In My Life 2012

Today begins a week long series hosted by Melissa at Adventuroo called A Week In My LIfe. For an ENTIRE week, I will share with you the trials and tribulations of being a mom, wife, and everything else! On a side note, this challenge actually started last week and at the last minute (Sunday morning) to be exact, I decided to join!

I always say that when our mornings begin and we walk into the angels’ bedrooms-we never know what we are going to get and this was certainly one of those mornings. At 4:45 am, Ladybug walks in our room and complains that her knees itch. She saw the doctor this weekend and we don’t know if she is having an allergic reaction to one of the medicines she’s taking or if she is overexaggerating and top it all off her cough is still awful. Husband and I have a quick discussion and the decision is made that I would stay home and be “doctor” today. I give Ladybug a breathing treatment, complete my morning bible study, check email, and finally text work (I have to wait until a decent hour and 6:00 am is usually a decent time), and we get back in the bed. I am beyond exhausted and so is Ladybug, so we go back to sleep.

20121031-222720.jpg

A little after 8:00 am Pumpkin walks into my bedroom-which was perfect because I was able to call Ladybug’s doctors (I was informed by the doctor this weekend that one of her ear tubes fell out-it’s only been 7 months!) and leave messages. After I make the phone calls, the angels spend a little time on their own, we get dressed, eat breakfast, and Ladybug gets another breathing treatment. It’s a nice day so, I let the dogs out to roam the backyard. I have another one of my epiphanies in the shower, and hurry to write it down. I absolutely can’t forget!

20121031-222545.jpg

At about noon, we buckle in and go to Auntie’s house to let her dog out. The angels LOVE going to her house and raiding her cabinet!  While we are out, the doctor calls in another prescription (Ladybug is NOW taking four meds.) and we go pick it up. By this time, it is after noon and I pick up lunch for the angels. They eat and Ladybug takes more meds. Finally, at about 1:00 pm the house is quiet and everyone is napping.

     20121031-222832.jpg20121031-222953.jpg       20121031-223052.jpg

I decide to take full advantage of a quiet house and clean, clean, clean, flat iron my hair (An almost 2 hour process) and do laundry.

20121031-223130.jpg

Ladybug finally wakes up at about 4:45 pm and Pumpkin wakes up at 5:15 pm. I pop popcorn and turn on a movie (The angels don’t watch TV during the week, but technically this was not a school day!) to finish my last bit of cleaning. I am still waiting to get an update from Ladybug’s surgeon about the tubes. I check my phone before I walk out the room and just that fast, I miss the doctor’s call. So frustrating, because you can’t call back after hours and I will be forced to call again on Tuesday.

Husband cooks dinner and we all sit for dinner. The angels are not fond of shrimp, so they eat Lunchables and we dined on shrimp pasta. Dinner time is one of my favorite times of day because the angels get really silly and we can see each of their unique personalities full on.

20121031-223151.jpg

After dinner, it is time to prepare the angels for bed and give Ladybug another treatment. 45 minutes after being tucked in bed, Pumpkin wakes up, finds me, and tells me, “Bad people are out to get me.” I really want to say, “Yes they are because you are bad.” But, I digress and tuck him back in bed after thoroughly “checking” his room.

My dining room has become my new “office” and it was an embarrassing mess.  I was determined to clean it up, TONIGHT of course!  And I’m glad I did because I noticed spilled milk that stuck to paper from Ladybug’s cup that is now stuck to my table, and this is quite interesting because food and drinks are not allowed out of the kitchen.

20121031-223216.jpg          20121031-223231.jpg

At about 9:30 pm, I finally get the opportunity to indulge in MY time. I take a shower, complete Bible Study, and get some blog and Printed Sugar work done. At 12:02 am, I can finally say, “UNPLUGGED and GOOD NIGHT!”

4 responses

  1. I loved reading about your day! You’re a good mama, and you have beautiful children. My only regret is that you didn’t post a picture of your two-hour hair! 🙂

    1. Thanks. I think after two hours, I was so drained, I didn’t want to see another strand of hair! But, I just may need to post a hair pic….

  2. Natasha N. Fowler | Reply

    At this point I can only say…you’re such a wonderful wife & mom!!! I am enjoying every moment of your life 🙂

    1. Thanks! I am definitely a work in progress!

Leave a Reply

